NAHA Header


Contributors (Volume XI: Page 169)

DR. ARTHUR C. PAULSON, professor of English in St. Olaf College, has contributed several studies to the present series. With Dr. Bjørk, he edited for volume 10 a series of interesting documents relating to the common schools and the problem of language in pioneer times.

DR. KENNETH BJØRK is assistant professor of history and economics in St. Olaf College. He has recently been appointed a research fellow of the Norwegian-American Historical Association for the year 1940-41 and will devote the year to the preparation of a book on the history of the Norwegian technicians in America, particularly engineers and architects. Dr. Bjørk is a member of the Association's Board of Editors.

MR. HENRY O. EVJEN is a member of the faculty of the Rocky River High School, Rocky River, Ohio. In 1938 he presented a master's thesis on the "History of Illinois State University" at Ohio State University.

MR. E. BIDDLE HEG is a graduate of Swarthmore College and an instructor in the English department at the University of Pennsylvania. He is a great-grandson of Colonel Hans Christian Heg, the commander of the "Fifteenth Wisconsin" in the Civil War.

DR. H. F. SWANSEN is the head of the history department in Dana College, Blair, Nebraska, and the author of an article on "The Norwegian Quakers of Marshall County, Iowa," which appeared in volume 10 of the present series.

MRS. INGRID GAUSTAD SEMMINGSEN is a Norwegian scholar who is writing a general history of Norwegian migration to America. In 1938 she published an important article in Historisk tidskrift on Norwegian emigration in the period from 1866 to 1873. She resides in Oslo, Norway.

PROFESSOR EINAR HAUGEN of the University of Wisconsin, the translator of Mrs. Semmingsen's article, has recently published a volume entitled Norsk i Amerika, a probing study of the speech of the Norwegian immigrants in the United States. He is a member of the Association's Board of Editors.

DR. CARLTON C. QUALEY of Bard College, Annandale-on-Hudson, New York, is the author of Norwegian Settlement in the United States and a member of the Association's Board of Editors.

MR. ARTHUR S. PETERSON is a teacher of history in the high school of Cambria, Wisconsin. He is a graduate of Luther College and is carrying on his advanced studies in history at the University of Wisconsin.

MISS NORA O. SOLUM, associate professor of English in St. Olaf College, is co-author, with Professor Theodore Jorgenson, of a biography of Ole Edvart Rølvaag, published in 1939. She translated Rølvaag's Boat of Longing from Norwegian to English in 1933.

MR. JACOB HODNEFIELD, who contributes to this volume the seventh in his series of bibliographical reports on publications in the Norwegian-American field, is the director of the historical records survey in Minnesota.



Arthur Andersen, Chicago, Illinois, President
L. W. Boe, Northfield, Minnesota, Vice-president
J. Jørgen Thompson, Northfield, Minnesota, Secretary
Birger Osland, Chicago, Illinois, Treasurer
S. J. Arnesen, Brooklyn, New York
David T. Nelson, Decorah, Iowa
A. N. Rygg, Brooklyn, New York
Frederic Schaefer, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Harry J. Williams, Kenilworth, Illinois


O. M. Olesen, Fort Dodge, Iowa
T. Stabo, Decorah, Iowa
Theodore Wold, Minneapolis, Minnesota


Theodore C. Blegen, St. Paul, Minnesota, Managing Editor
Kenneth Bjørk, Northfield, Minnesota
Einar Haugen, Madison, Wisconsin
Paul Knaplund, Madison, Wisconsin
Carlton C. Qualey, Annandale-on-Hudson, New York
Martin B. Ruud, Minneapolis, Minnesota


Jacob Hodnefield, St. Paul, Minnesota
Karen Larson, Northfield, Minnesota
Agnes Larson, Northfield, Minnesota


C. Martin Alsager, Chicago, Illinois
Axel Arneson, Fort Worth, Texas
Helmer Blegen, Sioux Falls, South Dakota
J. N. Brown, Moorhead, Minnesota
G. M. Bruce, St. Paul, Minnesota
Mrs. Frida Bue-Homnes, Crosby, North Dakota
Olaf Halvorson, Huntington Park, California
Mrs. Kristine Haugen, Sioux City, Iowa
O. I. Hertsgaard, Minneapolis, Minnesota
J. M. Johnson, Chicago, Illinois
Charles E. Larsen, Brooklyn, New York
R. A. Nestos, Minot, North Dakota
B. L. Wick, Cedar Rapids, Iowa

<<  Previous Page

To the Home Page