NAHA Header


   (Volume 22: Page 241)

Dr. Marion John Nelson is associate professor in the departments of art and Scandinavian in the University of Minnesota. He has been setting up a cataloguing and classification system for the Norwegian-American Museum in Decorah; he will be director of the museum on a part-time basis beginning July 1.

Miss Nina Draxten is assistant professor of literature and writing in the general college, University of Minnesota. She is presently writing a book on Kristofer Jansonís years in America.

Mr. Malcolm Rosholt, for years a journalist in Asia and an intelligence officer with the 14th Air Force in China during World War II, now devotes all his time to writing, mainly in the field of Wisconsin history.

Professor Sverre Arestad, chairman of the department of Scandinavian in the University of Washington, Seattle, has contributed several documentary articles about the Pacific Northwest to this series. He is a member of the executive board of the Norwegian-American Historical Association.

Professor Carlton C. Qualey, chairman of the department of history in Carleton College, Northfield, Minnesota, is author of Norwegian Settlement in the United States and a member of the board of publications of the Norwegian-American Historical Association. He is currently working on a general history of European migration to America.

Dr. Gerhard M. Cartford is chairman of the department of music at Texas Lutheran College, Sequin. He is gathering materials for a comprehensive study of music in the Norwegian-American Lutheran Church, an expansion of his doctoral dissertation at the University of Minnesota.

Mrs. Barbara Levorsen of Pelican Rapids, Minnesota, grew up on a homestead in North Dakota. Her article, "Early Years in Dakota," which appeared earlier in this series, and the chapter included in this volume are from an unpublished manuscript titled "The Quiet Conquest," a sensitive account of childhood in a frontier community.

Dr. Walter Muir Whitehill is director and librarian of the Boston Athenæum. He has been historian, editor, and author, and during World War II was a commander in the United States Navy. His Independent Historical Societies was published in Boston in 1962.

Miss Beulah Folkedahl is curator of archives for the Norwegian-American Historical Association. She has contributed documentary articles and bibliographies to this series.



Lionel G. Thorsness, Chicago, Illinois, President

Marthinius A. Strand, Salt Lake City, Utah, Vice-President

David T. Nelson, Decorah, Iowa, Second Vice-President

Magnus Bjorndal, Weehawken, New Jersey, Third Vice-President

Andrew E. Wigeland, Evanston, Illinois, Treasurer

Lloyd Hustvedt, Northfield, Minnesota, Secretary and Archivist

Sverre Arestad, Seattle, Washington

Reidar Dittmann, Northfield, Minnesota

Gunnar E. Gunderson, Chicago, Illinois

Derwood Johnson, Waco, Texas

Harry J. Williams, Chicago, Illinois

J. A. Aasgaard, Cokato, Minnesota, Honorary Member

S. J. Arnesen, Brooklyn, New York, Honorary Member


Theodore C. Blegen, St. Paul, Minnesota, Honorary Member

C. A. Clausen, Northfield, Minnesota

Einar Haugen, Cambridge, Massachusetts

Peter A. Munch, Carbondale, Illinois

Carlton C. Qualey, Northfield, Minnesota

Kenneth O. Bjork, Northfield, Minnesota, Editor

<<   Previous Page   |     

To the Home Page